Don't click or your IP will be banned


Hittin' The Web with the Allman Brothers Band Forum
You are not logged in

< Last Thread   Next Thread ><<  1    2  >>Ascending sortDescending sorting  
Author: Subject: Help with Adware/Spyware

A Peach Supreme





Posts: 2772
(2772 all sites)
Registered: 10/2/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/12/2004 at 10:26 AM
I am getting desperate. My PC is infected with some kind of Adware/Spyware that continues to switch my homepage and not allow me to login ot my Yahoo mail account. I have used XoftSpy and HijackThis to try to remedy the problem, but the problem continues to happen. What else, besides taking a sledgehammer to the f-ing thing, can I try? I'm at my wits end.

 

____________________
Y'all are brutalizin' me!

 
Replies:

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 17346
(17344 all sites)
Registered: 1/17/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/12/2004 at 10:36 AM
Sorry Ronnie trying to get your problem. Are the pop up windows ads for Adaware? strange it is designed to stop pop up windows. I have problems on one computer with pop ups. My daughter goes to all the sites that screw you over.

I know where you are coming from. Re-formatting the hard drive solves the problem for me. Until she goes back to those sites. i had the same problem with Yahoo email. Try entering by choosing a secure line. Seems to cure the password problem with Yahoo. Hope this helped a little. i am sure one of our more computer friendly members will be of more help.

 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2772
(2772 all sites)
Registered: 10/2/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/12/2004 at 10:39 AM
Thanks CM. Yes, the ads that pop up are for Spyware/adware stoppers. I'm more frustrated that I have to keep resetting my homepage.

 

____________________
Y'all are brutalizin' me!

 

Peach Extraordinaire



Karma:
Posts: 4239
(4988 all sites)
Registered: 3/18/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/12/2004 at 10:51 AM
dont reformat yet.

download these from www.download.com (both are free). Make sure you update the programs once they are downloaded. (it ad aware its on the front page of the program when it launches, in spy sweeper its one of the tabs on the right hand side)

run Ad-aware
and then either Spy Sweeper (which i like better) or Spy-bot Search and Destroy.

Delete all the stuff it finds.

use a firewall, you wont get as much. keep your system patched.

it will help.

i'm making a mint these days cleaning systems for people, i usually charge $50 bucks a pop, but for you its free ronnie

 

____________________
You make me wanna wake up in the moring

Oh, you make me wanna be the best I can

Always searching but never finding

Oh, until you took me by the hand

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 17346
(17344 all sites)
Registered: 1/17/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/12/2004 at 10:52 AM
Same with my daughters computer. Funny i used adware to get rid of their own windows. pressing secure should get you in your email. That is why I call computers boxes. To many damn boxes in our lives.

I'm sure Linnie or one of our other computer geniuses will get you through.

 

Ultimate Peach



Karma:
Posts: 3238
(3242 all sites)
Registered: 9/3/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/12/2004 at 11:30 AM
Ronnie,

I had a problem with the changing homepage, too. Eventually I was able to remove all the crap that caused it, but it takes lots of adaware, spybot, and spysweeper to clean it up. Run each program multiple times and be sure to reboot after each one. Then stay away from the free porn sites!!!

If you simply want to maintain your homepage, try downloading the free trial version of Webroot's Spysweeper. When the 'virus' tries to switch your webpage, spysweeper will notice and let you know so that you can stop it from happening.

 

____________________
"Down in the what?"


 

Peach Head



Karma:
Posts: 53
(53 all sites)
Registered: 10/5/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/12/2004 at 11:35 AM
I had the same problem - downlaod the SpyBot Search and Destroy, and also if the problems persists this website can walk you thru anything....you don't need to be a techie programmer to do this, I had a problem with the 'alternate home page', and this killed it instantly....follow the procedures to the letter, and your compu will be good as new!!

http://www.pchell.com/support/spyware.shtml

 

Peach Pro



Karma:
Posts: 206
(209 all sites)
Registered: 10/3/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/12/2004 at 12:09 PM
I use a firewall and spybot search and destroy.
Both together work well for me.

 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 17346
(17344 all sites)
Registered: 1/17/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/12/2004 at 12:18 PM
What a community of helpful, friendly and intelligent people you all are. That was quick Linnie. You beat me mentioning you would help.

Thanks for the help. Not only Ronnie has these problems!

 

Peach Extraordinaire



Karma:
Posts: 4239
(4988 all sites)
Registered: 3/18/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/12/2004 at 12:32 PM
helping people with computer problems is my job, so i figure the experience is helpful to help me too.

Spyware/Adware is the #1 reason people are complaining about their boxes these days. i dont mention to anyone oustide of work (and here) that i fix computers anymore, its worse than being a Doctor!

but, the good news is, that i finally learned to CHARGE FOR IT!

Ronnie, you will have to keep resetting your homepage till you get it unhijacked. its a registery setting that something installed on your PC.

run the two programs mentioned
PATCH YOUR SYSTEM using the Microsoft update site
install a firewall (i recommend Sygate, there are others)

and it wont happen anymore

 

____________________
You make me wanna wake up in the moring

Oh, you make me wanna be the best I can

Always searching but never finding

Oh, until you took me by the hand

 

True Peach



Karma:
Posts: 13152
(14465 all sites)
Registered: 6/1/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/12/2004 at 12:45 PM
Has anybody ever tryed StopZilla?

 

____________________
I've got gold in the sunshine and diamonds in the dew.

 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1127
(1165 all sites)
Registered: 12/22/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/12/2004 at 01:24 PM
Ronnie,
I had the same problem with mine, everytime I tried to get to Yahoo, the system would crash or you'd get an error message and explorer would cut out.

Seemed the problem stemmed from 'Shockwave'. I know it sounds strange, but after the tech's tried everything and ran every kind of anti-whatever they could, the culprit was 'Shockwave'. With any site that ran ads or pictures using Shockwave, the system crashed. When it was uninstalled, the problem disappeared, re-installed, the problem re-appeared. They still can't figure out exactly why this happened, but in the meantime everything works just as well without it. It may or may not be an issue with your system, but it's worth checking out.

 

____________________
The time is long between the sails, the ones that glide on by
And longer still between the stops, and then they say goodbye

 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2267
(2336 all sites)
Registered: 12/9/2001
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/12/2004 at 02:27 PM
There's a whole section in the "General" section of the Forum called "Computer Tips and Tricks" that Linnie started. Lots of good pointers, and adware/spyware has been covered multiple times. Go here to find the thread.

 

____________________



 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 752
(1253 all sites)
Registered: 11/29/2001
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/12/2004 at 02:56 PM
My computer was running like crap...a total mess. I downloaded the free ad-aware software and it worked wonders! It removed a bunch of crap (ya gotta love my computer lingo!) and things are running VERY smoothly now. I install the google search and use it's popup blocker...I don't get any now.
 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2772
(2772 all sites)
Registered: 10/2/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/13/2004 at 11:33 AM
Thanks so much for all your help. I'm still having the same problem, but I will keep trying. Why isn't this kind of stuff illegal?

 

____________________
Y'all are brutalizin' me!

 

Peach Extraordinaire



Karma:
Posts: 4239
(4988 all sites)
Registered: 3/18/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/13/2004 at 11:37 AM
quote:
Thanks so much for all your help. I'm still having the same problem, but I will keep trying. Why isn't this kind of stuff illegal?


there are bills in congress but i'd venture to guess alot of this stuff is from overseas.

ronnie, you downloaded and ran both spy programs, and are STILL having trouble?

run "HIJACK THIS" next; it should fix it. PM me if you can't find it.

 

____________________
You make me wanna wake up in the moring

Oh, you make me wanna be the best I can

Always searching but never finding

Oh, until you took me by the hand

 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2772
(2772 all sites)
Registered: 10/2/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/13/2004 at 04:19 PM
Thanks for all your help. I ran Spy Sweeper today and it seems to have done the trick. Linnie, you rule.

 

____________________
Y'all are brutalizin' me!

 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2267
(2336 all sites)
Registered: 12/9/2001
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/13/2004 at 04:22 PM
Run the other two (AdAware and SpyBot). They all pick up different mal-ware, so to really clean your system run all of them. And if you really have a bunch of spare time on your hands, run them a couple times. You'd be surprised what will turn up on subsequent scans, even if you haven't been on the internet between scans. Bizarro, really.

 

____________________



 

Zen Peach



Karma:
Posts: 16629
(16629 all sites)
Registered: 6/4/2004
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/13/2004 at 04:33 PM
And invest in some firewall software
 

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 752
(1253 all sites)
Registered: 11/29/2001
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/13/2004 at 04:56 PM
Zone Alarm offers an adequate firewall free of charge. Goliath recommended it to me awhile back and it has served me well.
 

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2232
(2243 all sites)
Registered: 2/3/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/13/2004 at 04:57 PM
I use ZoneAlarm as well and it's great.

 

____________________
Language is a virus from outer space.

 
E-Mail User

Extreme Peach



Karma:
Posts: 1037
(1037 all sites)
Registered: 10/17/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/13/2004 at 05:07 PM
I have heard there are some problems with ZoneAlrm, and its compatibility with XP (even ZA acknowledge this on their website) - from personal experience, I've had problems with system lock-ups ever since I moved to a DSL connection, and I think I've narrowed the problem down to using one of the 5.1.xx editions of ZoneAlarm.

For those that want to try it, all I can say is to be careful which edition you download - try one of the 4.5.xx editions still available on their website, which apparently don't have these problems; the latest edition (5.1.11.0 ) does apparently rectify some of these problems, so I'm giving that a try now...

 
E-Mail User

Peach Head



Karma:
Posts: 145
(145 all sites)
Registered: 6/12/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/14/2004 at 10:37 AM
Well on my Win XP Pro: I've used Ad-Aware & SpyBot Search and Destroy for about 2.5 years now. Both proggy's together take care of all spyware probs..
Also I don't use Zonealarm cuz it actually tries to find & display too much information, which tends to slow down most Win Os's performance & speed...I use Sygate's Personal Firewall Pro... its free to try [then you gotta get ceral.. ]

But I hardly ever use my Windows Os anymore so as always I must preach the penguin:
The Future Is Open...Try Linux!!

 

____________________

__________________

What the eyes see and the ears hear, the mind believes...
__________________

 
E-Mail User

A Peach Supreme



Karma:
Posts: 2772
(2772 all sites)
Registered: 10/2/2003
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/14/2004 at 10:45 AM
quote:
Well on my Win XP Pro: I've used Ad-Aware & SpyBot Search and Destroy for about 2.5 years now. Both proggy's together take care of all spyware probs..
Also I don't use Zonealarm cuz it actually tries to find & display too much information, which tends to slow down most Win Os's performance & speed...I use Sygate's Personal Firewall Pro... its free to try [then you gotta get ceral.. ]

But I hardly ever use my Windows Os anymore so as always I must preach the penguin:
The Future Is Open...Try Linux!!



Could we perhaps remove my personal info such as isp and such from this message?

 

____________________
Y'all are brutalizin' me!

 

Peach Head



Karma:
Posts: 145
(145 all sites)
Registered: 6/12/2002
Status: Offline

  posted on 8/14/2004 at 10:46 AM
nope...

sorry but thats my sign... heheh... LMGDAO!!!

 

____________________

__________________

What the eyes see and the ears hear, the mind believes...
__________________

 
E-Mail User
<<  1    2  >>  


Powered by XForum 1.81.1 by Trollix Software

Privacy | Terms of Service | Report Infringement | Personal Data Management | Contact Us
The ALLMAN BROTHERS BAND name, The ALLMAN BROTHERS name, likenesses, logos, mushroom design and peach truck are all registered trademarks of THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. whose rights are specifically reserved. Any artwork, visual, or audio representations used on this web site CONTAINING ANY REGISTERED TRADEMARKS are under license from The ABB MERCHANDISING CO., INC. A REVOCABLE, GRATIS LICENSE IS GRANTED TO ALL REGISTERED PEACH CORP MEMBERS FOR The DOWNLOADING OF ONE COPY FOR PERSONAL USE ONLY. ANY DISTRIBUTION OR REPRODUCTION OF THE TRADEMARKS CONTAINED HEREIN ARE PROHIBITED AND ARE SPECIFICALLY RESERVED BY THE ABB MERCHANDISING CO.,INC.
site by Hittin' the Web Group with www.experiencewasabi3d.com